/  News   /  Records tumble at the Sporting 14

Records tumble at the Sporting 14

Jennifer George (The Independent Pedaler) and Zeb Kyffin (Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling) set new course records on Sunday, taking the overall wins at the Gil Jessop Memorial Sporting 14.

Taking place two months later than usual due to lockdown restrictions, this year’s edition saw perfect conditions for the riders and with a packed field of 120 riders it was set to be a fast day.

The juniors were up first with Amber Junker Brameld (VCL) putting in a strong performance on the TT bike to win the junior women’s category, and Jack Hartrey (Kingston Wheelers CC) going from strength to strength to win the junior male title on his road bike.

Onyx RT had a strong showing in the Vets category with Detta Guerrini taking the women’s title, and James Muir from the same team in the men’s, with our own Neil Grunshaw (Kingston Wheelers) coming in a close 2nd, just 12 seconds behind.

The road bike category had a bumper showing this year with 82 riders. The Guerrini’s from Onyx RT managed a clean sweep with Monte winning the men’s and Detta winning the women’s, and Onyx and Paceline dominating proceedings to take the rest of the podium places.

Big thanks to everyone who raced, it was great to see this event return in 2021. And special mention to Adam Bidwell and the team of volunteers who pulled together a well-run and safe event.


  1. Zeb Kyffin (Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling) 0:28:41 (CR)
  2. Rupert Graham (SPIRIT TIFOSI RT) 0:29:32
  3. Ross Holland (Saint Piran) 0:29:46
  4. Paul Burton (Paceline RT) 0:30:15
  5. Monte Guerrini (London Dynamo) 0:31:07


  1. Jennifer George (The Independent Pedaler – Nopinz) 0:33:09 (CR)
  2. Detta Guerrini (Onyx RT) 0:34:57
  3. Samantha Fawcett (Pro-Noctis – Redchilli Bikes – Heidi Kjeldsen) 0:35:21
  4. Helen Ralston (Paceline RT) 0:35:33
  5. Kathryn Hughes (Onyx RT) 0:35:57

Male Veteran

  1. James Muir (Onyx RT) 0:32:06
  2. Neil Grunshaw (Kingston Wheelers CC) 0:32:18
  3. Peter Allan (Team Velo Sportif) 0:32:25

Female Veteran

  1. Detta Guerrini (Onyx RT) 0:34:57
  2. Kathryn Hughes (Onyx RT) 0:35:57
  3. Maryka Sennema (Paceline RT) 0:36:42

Junior Male

  1. Jack Hartrey (Kingston Wheelers CC) 0:36:59

Junior Female

  1. Amber Junker Brameld (VC de Londres) 0:37:33

Road Male

  1. Monte Guerrini (Onyx RT) 0:31:07
  2. Michael Cunliffe (Paceline RT) 0:31:10
  3. Danylo Riwnyj (Paceline RT) 0:31:26

Road Female

  1. Detta Guerrini (Onyx RT) 0:34:57
  2. Helen Ralston (Paceline RT) 0:35:33
  3. Kathryn Hughes (Onyx RT) 0:35:57

Full list of results available here. With thanks to Keith Rochelle for the photos.